Mexico Time Zones

Mexico has three time zones: Centro, Pacifico, and Noroeste which, in English, mean Central, Pacific, and Northwest. These correspond to U.S. time zones Central, Mountain, and Pacific times, respectively or GMT/UTC -6, -7 and -8.

Daylight Saving Time begins at 2:00 a.m. local time on the first Sunday in April. On the last Sunday in October areas on Daylight Saving Time fall back to Standard Time at 2:00 a.m which can be confusing for travelers as they don't match up with the changes in the U.S.

Time Zone Map of Mexico

Mexico Time Zones

*** The state of Sonora does not observe daylight saving time.

*** Ten Mexico municipalities which share a border with the United States will begin daylight saving time three weeks earlier on the second Sunday in March and end on the first Sunday in November.

Download Map of Mexico Time Zones in PDF.

Mexico City Time Zone

Mexico City is on Central time, which is akin to U.S. Central time except the slight variation with respect to daylight savings time above.

What time is it in Mexico? - A guide to Mexico Time

The vast majority of Mexican cities such as Mexico City, Guadalajara, Monterrey, Puebla, Oaxaca, Acapulco, Puerto Vallarta, Cancun, Merida, San Luis Potosi, Queretero, Morelia, Veracruz, Nuevo Laredo, etc.. are all on the same time as Chicago, U.S. Central time, which is also called Central time in Mexico.

Cities such as Mazatlan, Ciudad Juárez and Cabo San Lucas are on the same time as Phoenix and Denver, U.S. Mountain Time which is called Pacific Time in Mexico.

Cities such as Tijuana, Ensenada, and Mexicali are on the same time as Los Angeles, U.S. Pacific Time which is called Northwest time in Mexico.